Announcing the 2023 Wigan Borough Palliative and End of Life Care Awards Winners

On Friday 13th October, health & social care professionals within the Wigan borough, came together to celebrate and showcase high quality palliative and end of life care.

The annual event was held at Leigh Sports Village and was organised by the Practice Development Team, who facilitate the Wigan Borough Palliative and End of Life Care Learning Hub. A total of 15 awards were handed out at the ceremony.

Celebrating great care

Amongst those nominated were staff from care homes, GPs, District Nurses, domiciliary carers, extra care and hospital workers.

Practice Development Manager, Debbie Jones said,

“This was our 7th annual awards evening, and it is always the highlight of our year. The event has grown so much since its launch in 2015, and despite initially being a care home ceremony, it has been extended since Covid to include so many other care settings such as hostels, learning disability teams and ward staff from our Wigan hospitals. It is always extremely humbling to see the immense pride and joy that the evening brings to all those unsung heroes across our locality. There is so much fantastic work going on that doesn’t always get recognised, so the evening is a chance to say thank you to all those committed professionals who strive every day to enhance the experience of those patients/service users and their loved ones, at the end of their life.” 

Category winners

On the evening the following categories were awarded:

  • Non-Clinical Staff Member of the Year – Alan McGibney and Jay Ashkew
  • Dignity Champion – Jennifer Watson and Chanters House
  • Health Care Assistant / Support Worker of the Year – Elisha Smith
  • Senior Carer / Lead of the Year – Nickie Cree
  • Nursing Assistant / Care Home Assistant Practitioner – Marie Crompton
  • Nurse of the Year – Jade Egam and Lynn Crowley
  • Deputy Manager / Clinical Lead of the Year – Kaye Priest
  • Peer Nominated – Charlotte Pardon, Westwood Lodge
  • Patient/Resident/Family Nominated – Ashley Smith and Ann Marie Roberts, Wellbeing Co-ordinators at Ashton View
  • Most Innovative Setting – St Georges
  • Special Recognition – Margaret Smith and Sarah Edwards
  • Committee Nominated Staff member / team – Kate Cleary, Wigan Council
  • ACP Champion – Kim Jackson
  • Manager of the Year – Andreea Sfrejea
  • Care Setting / Service of the Year – Deanwood Manor and Elmridge Court

Health and social care professionals across the Borough have nominated their colleagues for the Peer Award. Families and patients vote for the ‘Family and Residents Award’.

Congratulations to our winners and thank you to all who attended in helping to make the night one to remember.